the cup of dignity


when you cried
I pretended not to hear
when you talk
I don’t want to hear
when you shook me
I pretended not understand

then you ask
why didn’t I answer you
I say
too much to listen to you
made my ears full
no more space for question

you yelled again
why I didn’t  fulfill your request

I say
I grant whatever you’ve asked
I gave everything I had
nothing left to give
besides this dignity
but I’ll keep it
until

my soul is revoked
which my body will be devoured by worms
but this honor
will stay

to fill the cup of
my descendants


4 thoughts on “the cup of dignity

Leave a Reply

