Colour

This poem written by an African child and was nominated for

 The Best Poem of 2005

When I born, I black

When I grow up, I black

When I go in sun, I black

When I scared, I black

When I sick, I black

When I die, I still black

and you white fellows

When you born, you pink

When you grow up, you white

When you go in sun, you red

When you cold, you blue

When you scared, you yellow

When you sick, you green

When you die, you grey

and

you called me coloured?

***

– mei –

15 thoughts on “Colour

  1. So very beautiful from a child who sees life the way it really is…especially when many say they love God, and make the color black something negative destroying the hope of future generations…are we teaching Him to love or hate…he recognizes this dilemma so he chooses the higher plane by letting you see the fallacy of discrimination. And because he sees from his heart with a clear spirits vision…he will forgive all…as that is his blessing! You might have to ask yourself what color would you rather be. Because our skin that we are in we have with us until we pass. Love one another as you would love yourself…if not your religion becomes a lie. Thanks for sharing Mei

Leave a Reply

